I Must Have Found a Face-Up Penny or Run Over a Leprechaun or Something…

Last night something pretty amazing happened to me, I won something. I’ll back it up a bit to fill you in on the deets. Yesterday afternoon I got a text asking if I wanted to go to a concert, or as the kids call em these days “a show.” I had never heard of this band but I took the opportunity to listen to some songs on YouTube during my last few hours in the office, they sounded alright. I wasn’t too sure but I figured I’d at least consider it.

Fast forward to the evening, I’m faced with a dilemma. I’m feeling like a little mid week drinking and live music sounds appealing BUT my beloved Tigers are playing in the Big Twelve Tournament. I don’t really want to get into my feelings about Mizzou basketball this season, suffice it to say that my friends and I have taken it upon ourselves to add a fifth university value, Disappointment. (for those unfamiliar MU’s ‘values’ are Respect, Responsibility, Discovery, Excellence and Disappointment)

I figure that we’ll just lose anyway so off to the show! Having prepared myself appropriately we brave the cold weather to the tiny venue and throw down our $12. As we walk in a guy to my left gets my attention. “Fill out your name and e-mail and be entered into a raffle.” Don’t mind if I do. I’m not usually a big raffle guy and getting emails you don’t care about kind of sucks but three factors crossed my mind. 1) Its KCOU, the student run radio station, might as well support them. 2) I was pretty high which typically increases my friendliness and generosity. 3) The guy was really nice and excited. I gave him my little slip of paper and went to grab some beers.

My new poster

We found a spot to stand around before the opener went on, why we always misjudge concert timing will forever be a mystery to me. They were surprisingly great though, Maps and Atlases is the band if you’re interested. Before the headliner came on a guy from the radio station got on the stage and announced, “We have twelve prizes to give out for our raffle. I’ll call your names and you can pick them up after the show, that way you don’t have to worry about holding onto them while you rock out.” At this point, I shit you not, I looked to my friend and said “I’m gonna win.” I don’t think he heard me though, which kills my prophet credibility. Anyway, I was the second name called. Hands get raised, a let out some joyous noises and look at a girl in front of me and loudly proclaim, “That’s me!” She says with a smile, “I’m happy for you.” Hipsters can be nice sometimes. My night has been made.

After the show, which was good, I go over to collect my booty. I tell them my name and get handed a signed poster from the band we just saw Menomena. Truthfully, this isn’t really that great of a prize but who am I to give a shit? Free stuff and the feeling that I’m lucky is all I need in life.

There’s a lesson to be learned here, enter raffles! (or sweepstakes or contests). People actually make a living doing it, which is pretty crazy if you ask me. I’m not going to quit my day job but the next time someone wants a little info for the opportunity to win something I AM IN.

Oh, and MU ended up winning, clearly I’m the luckiest man alive.

Leave a Reply

